Lions News · High School Athletics Update


Good Morning,

As we have finished the school year differently than we have ever done before, especially in athletics, we are now looking toward this upcoming school year. If you haven’t been a part of our athletics program I would like to invite you to check out our athletics program at the high school. We offer over 20 programs ranging from Field Hockey to Football and Soccer to Swimming. We play in the Suburban Conference and we have won over 10 pool championships in conference the last two years. Boys and Girls Soccer, Baseball, Softball and Boys Basketball are moving into more competitive pools in conference. In addition, Athletics offers great academic support. Last year our scholar athletes GPA was 3.0 gpa.  For those of you returning, we look forward to building upon the successes from the past seasons for a strong future.

 

For those of you who are new, to start getting information from our coaches about practices and meetings please find the sport specific information with the Head Coaches’ emails below. We hope to be able to start on a limited basis with our summer conditioning July 1st. However, as we are all aware everything is very fluid and subject to change. Changes will be communicated via email and VNN Teammate as well as the Athletics website (ucityathletics.com) and Twitter account (@UCityAthletics).  For those of you who are returning, we are transitioning from TeamSnap to VNN Teammate.  Your head coach will have that information for you.

 

Please contact the coaches to find out information about their various programs and summer activities.

 

Your student athletes will need to have a sports physical and annual documents on file. Sports physicals and annual documents can be turned in electronically to our Athletic Trainer, AJ, at ajenkins@ucityschools.org or faxed to 314-290-4229.

 

MSHSAA Pre-participation Physical Evaluation Form

 

The Annual Documents that you will need to fill out should be part of this year’s registration.  We will keep you updated.

 

In addition, because of COVID-19 an additional form will need to be signed acknowledging that even with all of the safety procedures that the Athletics Department is taking to ensure the safety of the athletes and staff, there is an additional risk that the coronavirus presents as we return to play .

COVID-19 Student Waiver

Thank you for your interest,

 

Matt

Athletic Offerings and Head Coaches Contact Information

Fall Sports

Cheerleading:    Dominique Vickers dvickers@ucityschools.org

Cross-Country:  Brian Ashley  bashley@ucityschools.org

Dance: Nicole Thomas nthomas@ucityschools.org

Field Hockey: Marisa Sheppard msheppard@ucityschools.org

Football: Jason Wells jwells@ucityschools.org

Girls Tennis: Faycal Ibnabdeljalil fibnabdeljalil@ucityschools.org

Boys Soccer: Tom Henson thenson@ucityschools.org

Softball: Craig Morris cmorris@ucityschools.org

Boys Swimming: TBA dbrooks@ucityschools.org

Girls Volleyball: Kevin Stapleton-Cloud kstapletoncloud@ucityschools.org

 

Winter

Boys Basketball: Kelvin Lee klee@ucityschools.org

Girls Basketball: Danna Walker ddkkwalker@msn.com

Cheerleading:    Dominique Vickers dvickers@ucityschools.org

Dance: Nicole Thomas nthomas@ucityschools.org

Girls Swimming: Darielle Morris dmorris@ucityschools.org

Wrestling: Eric Morgan emorgan@ucityschools.org

 

Spring

Baseball: John Bass jbass@ucityschools.org

Golf: Hannah Cunningham hcunningham@ucityschools.org

Girls Soccer: Tom Henson thenson@ucityschools.org

Boys Tennis: Faycal Ibnabdeljalil fibnabdeljalil@ucityschools.org

Track: Brian Byrd bbyrd@ucityschools.org